Corporate - Branch income

Last reviewed - 21 July 2022

Distributed or retained branch profits are taxed at a rate between 22% and 28% (see the Taxes on corporate income section). Further taxes are payable when profits are remitted to headquarters abroad. 

Countries and territories considered as tax havens by tax authorities

Besides the tax haven list published by the tax authorities shown below, ‘low-tax jurisdictions’ shall be subject to the same tax treatment. ‘Low-tax jurisdictions’ are defined as a territory where the effective rate of income tax or taxes of an identical or similar nature is less than 60% of the applicable rate in Ecuador. Additional considerations are also taken by the tax authorities for determination of low-tax jurisdictions/preferential tax regimes.

Albania Cook Islands Maldives Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
American Samoa Curaçao Malta San Marino
Andorra Cyprus Marshall Islands Santa Elena
Angola Djibouti Mauritius Seychelles
Anguilla Dominica, Commonwealth of Monaco Solomon Islands
Antigua and Barbuda French Polynesia Montserrat (UK) Sri Lanka
Aruba Gibraltar Myanmar Svalbard Islands
Ascension Island Granada Nauru Swaziland, Kingdom of
Azores Islands Greenland Nigeria Tokelau
Bahamas Guam Niue Tonga
Bahrain Guyana Norfolk Islands Trinidad and Tobago
Barbados Hong Kong Oman Tristan Da Cunha
Belize Isle of Man Ostrava Tunisia
Bermuda Jordan Palau Turks and Caicos Islands
Bonaire, Saba, and St. Eustatius Kiribati Panama Tuvalu
Brunei Darussalam Kuwait Pitcairn United Arab Emirates
Cabo Verde Labuan Puerto Rico Vanuatu
Campione D´italia Liberia Qeshm Islands Virgin Islands (British)
Cayman Islands Liechtenstein Saint Kitts and Nevis Islands Virgin Islands of the United States
Channel Islands (Guernsey, Jersey, Alderney, Greater Sark, Herm, Little Sark, Brechou, Jethou, Lihou) Luxembourg Saint Lucia Western Samoa
Christmas Islands Macao Saint Martin Yemen
Cocos (Keeling) Islands Madeira (Portugal) Saint Pierre and Miquelon

Certain tax regimes from Costa Rica, Estonia, Ireland, Montenegro, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Serbia, the United Kingdom, and the United States may be considered preferential tax regimes.