Congo, Democratic Republic of the


Last reviewed - 28 February 2024

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), located in Central Africa, is bordered by nine countries, including the Central African Republic and Southern Republic of Sudan to the north; Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Tanzania to the east; Zambia and Angola to the south; and the Republic of Congo and Atlantic Ocean to the west. The Democratic Republic of the Congo attained independence in 1960 and was known as Zaïre prior to 1997. It is the second largest country in Africa and is divided into 26 provinces, with Kinshasa as its capital. The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a presidential democratic republic, and the official language is French. The currency is the Congolese franc (CDF).

Ever increasing activity in the mining sector, the source of most export income, has boosted the DRC's fiscal receipts and gross domestic product (GDP) growth.

PwC has an extensive network of offices in most countries on the African continent. PwC Democratic Republic of the Congo, which was established in 1970, offers a range of tax, audit, and consulting services. Our professionals assist clients with local knowledge and skills, with access to a broad range of other professionals across the PwC global network of firms.

Quick rates and dates

Corporate income tax (CIT) rates
Headline CIT rate (%)


Corporate income tax (CIT) due dates
CIT return due date

30 April

CIT final payment due date

30 April

CIT estimated payment due dates

Four instalments representing each 20% of the CIT paid during the previous fiscal year must be paid before 1 June, 1 August, 1 October, and 1 December.

Personal income tax (PIT) rates
Headline PIT rate (%)


Personal income tax (PIT) due dates
PIT return due date


PIT final payment due date


PIT estimated payment due dates

PAYE 15 days after the end of the month in which the salaries were paid.

Value-added tax (VAT) rates
Standard VAT rate (%)


Withholding tax (WHT) rates
WHT rates (%) (Dividends/Interest/Royalties)

Resident: 10 or 20 / 0 / 20;

Non-resident: 10 or 20 / 0 or 20 / 20

Capital gains tax (CGT) rates
Headline corporate capital gains tax rate (%)

Capital gains are subject to the normal CIT rate.

Headline individual capital gains tax rate (%)


Net wealth/worth tax rates
Headline net wealth/worth tax rate (%)


Inheritance and gift tax rates
Headline inheritance tax rate (%)


Headline gift tax rate (%)


NA stands for Not Applicable (i.e. the territory does not have the indicated tax or requirement)

NP stands for Not Provided (i.e. the information is not currently provided in this chart)

All information in this chart is up to date as of the 'Last reviewed' date on the corresponding territory Overview page. This chart has been prepared for general guidance on matters of interest only, and does not constitute professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this chart without obtaining specific professional advice. No representation or warranty (express or implied) is given as to the accuracy or completeness of the information contained in this chart, and, to the extent permitted by law, PwC does not accept or assume any liability, responsibility or duty of care for any consequences of you or anyone else acting, or refraining to act, in reliance on the information contained in this chart or for any decision based on it.