Individual - Foreign tax relief and tax treaties

Last reviewed - 15 August 2023

Foreign tax credit

A resident is entitled to a credit in respect to any foreign income tax paid, to the extent to which the tax paid is in respect of the resident’s foreign taxable income. The foreign tax credit available on a specific income type should not exceed the average rate of Ghanaian income tax of the resident for a year.

Tax treaties

Ghana has DTTs with the following countries for the relief from double taxation on income arising in Ghana:

Belgium Italy South Africa
Czech Republic Mauritius Switzerland
Denmark Morocco United Kingdom
France Netherlands
Germany Singapore

Refer to the Withholding taxes section in the Corporate tax summary for more information.