Last reviewed - 30 June 2020

Kyrgyzstan, a landlocked country located in Central Asia, is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest, and the People's Republic of China to the east. It is divided into seven provinces, with Bishkek as its capital. Kyrgyzstan’s population is 5.7 million people, made up of more than 90 ethnic groups. The Kyrgyz people, who comprise 72.6% of the country's population, are traditionally Sunni Muslim. The som is the currency of Kyrgyzstan (KGS), and its official languages are Kyrgyz and Russian.

In 1876, Kyrgyzstan was formally incorporated into the Russian Empire. In 1924, following a brief period of independence after the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution, the country was designated the Kara-Kyrgyz Autonomous Region and a constituent part of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR). In 1936, the Kyrgyz Soviet Socialist Republic was established as a republic of the USSR.

The startling events of August 1991 in Moscow triggered great changes in the Republics of the USSR. In Kyrgyzstan, the republic's Supreme Soviet declared the nation independent of the Soviet Union on 31 August 1991 and, at the same time, scheduled direct presidential elections for October 1991. The president who was suddenly brought to power in 1990, Askar Akayev, became the first elected president of Kyrgyzstan, with 95% of the popular vote. By 24 March 2005, President Akayev was removed from the office and replaced by President Kurmanbek Bakiyev in what has been termed the 'Tulip Revolution'.

Kyrgyzstan witnessed a new political reform in June 2010 after Kurmanbek Bakiyev was overthrown. According to the provisions of adopted reform, Kyrgyzstan became a parliamentary country with Roza Otunbayeva at the head of the country.

In October 2011, a new presidential election took place. Beginning from 1 December 2011, Almazbek Atambayev is the President of Kyrgyzstan.

Kyrgyzstan is a mountainous country with a dominant agricultural sector. Cotton, tobacco, wool, and meat are the main agricultural products, although only tobacco and cotton are exported in any quantity. Industrial exports include gold, mercury, uranium, natural gas, and electricity. The economy is heavily weighted toward gold export.

Following independence, Kyrgyzstan was progressive in carrying out market reforms such as an improved regulatory system and land reform. Kyrgyzstan was the first Commonwealth of Independent States country to be accepted into the World Trade Organization (WTO). Currently, Kyrgyzstan is a party to various international agreements/organisations (more than 70), including the United Nations (UN), WTO, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), and Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE).

PwC does not have a permanent office offering tax advice in Kyrgyzstan. However, PwC Kazakhstan has a dedicated team responsible for providing consulting services relating to Kyrgyzstan issues.

Quick rates and dates

Corporate income tax (CIT) rates
Headline CIT rate (%)


Corporate income tax (CIT) due dates
CIT return due date

1 March

CIT final payment due date

1 March of the year following the reporting year.

CIT estimated payment due dates

CIT advance payments are due by the 20th day of the second month following the reporting quarter (only for first, second, and third quarters).

Personal income tax (PIT) rates
Headline PIT rate (%)


Personal income tax (PIT) due dates
PIT return due date

For self-reporting by individual: 1 April of the year following the reporting year.

For reporting by tax agent on behalf of an individual: 20th day of the month following the reporting month.

PIT final payment due date

For self-reporting by individual: Before 1 April of the year following the reporting year.

For reporting by tax agent on behalf of an individual: 20th day of the month following the reporting month.

PIT estimated payment due dates


Value-added tax (VAT) rates
Standard VAT rate (%)


Withholding tax (WHT) rates
WHT rates (%) (Div/Int/Roy)

Resident: NA / NA / 10;

Non-resident: 10 / 10 / 10

Capital gains tax (CGT) rates
Corporate capital gains tax rate (%)

Capital gains are subject to the normal profit tax rate (10%).

Individual capital gains tax rate (%)

Capital gains are subject to the normal PIT rate (10%).

Net wealth/worth tax rates
Headline net wealth/worth tax rate (%)


Inheritance and gift tax rates
Inheritance tax rate (%)


Gift tax rate (%)


NA stands for Not Applicable (i.e. the territory does not have the indicated tax or requirement)

NP stands for Not Provided (i.e. the information is not currently provided in this chart)

All information in this chart is up to date as of the 'Last reviewed' date on the corresponding territory Overview page. This chart has been prepared for general guidance on matters of interest only, and does not constitute professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this chart without obtaining specific professional advice. No representation or warranty (express or implied) is given as to the accuracy or completeness of the information contained in this chart, and, to the extent permitted by law, PwC does not accept or assume any liability, responsibility or duty of care for any consequences of you or anyone else acting, or refraining to act, in reliance on the information contained in this chart or for any decision based on it.