Papua New Guinea

Individual - Foreign tax relief and tax treaties

Last reviewed - 29 February 2024

Foreign tax relief

A foreign tax credit may be available to offset foreign tax paid against PNG tax payable. The foreign tax credit is limited to the lesser of the foreign tax paid or the average PNG tax payable on that foreign income.

Tax treaties

Double tax treaties (DTTs)

Papua New Guinea has DTTs with the following countries:

Australia Indonesia Singapore
Canada Korea, Republic of United Kingdom
China Malaysia
Fiji New Zealand  

Tax information exchange agreements (TIEAs)

Papua New Guinea has entered into a TIEA with Australia.

Most of the DTTs also include an exchange of information clause; however, the effect of these clauses is limited to the taxes listed in the DTT.