Individual - Foreign tax relief and tax treaties

Last reviewed - 18 August 2021

Foreign tax relief

Serbian residents are taxed on their worldwide income. When income generated in another country is taxed there, the taxpayer has the right to decrease the tax liability by claiming a tax credit to the tax authorities in Serbia. This tax credit is equal to the tax paid in another country, but it cannot exceed the amount of the tax that would have been paid in Serbia.

Tax treaties

Serbia has double tax treaties (DTTs) with the following countries:

Albania Greece Norway
Armenia Hungary Pakistan
Austria India Poland
Azerbaijan Indonesia Qatar
Belgium Iran Republic of Korea
Belorussia Ireland Romania
Bosnia and Herzegovina Israel Russia
Bulgaria Italy Slovak Republic
Canada Kazakhstan Slovenia
China Kuwait Spain
Croatia Latvia Sri Lanka
Cyprus Libya Sweden
Czech Republic Lithuania Switzerland
Denmark Luxembourg Tunisia
Egypt Malta Turkey
Estonia Moldova Ukraine
Finland Montenegro United Arab Emirates
France Netherlands United Kingdom
Georgia North Korea Vietnam
Germany North Macedonia