Individual - Foreign tax relief and tax treaties

Last reviewed - 30 June 2021

Foreign tax relief

Individuals who have been taxed abroad on passive income derived from non-resident entities are able to credit the tax paid in the foreign jurisdiction against the IRPF (with a limit of 12%, which is the applicable rate in Uruguay on this type of income).

Tax treaties

Uruguay has entered into double tax treaties (DTTs) with the following countries (see the Other issues section in the Corporate tax summary for more information):

  • Belgium
  • Chile
  • Ecuador
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Italy
  • Korea
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Paraguay
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Vietnam