Individual - Residence

Last reviewed - 21 February 2024

Persons actually staying in the territory of Azerbaijan for more than 182 days during a calendar year are considered resident.

A physical person who stays either in the territory of Azerbaijan or in a foreign country for less than 182 days will be considered a resident of Azerbaijan according to the following criteria:

  • Place of permanent stay.
  • Centre of vital interests.
  • Regular place of residence.
  • Citizenship of Azerbaijan.

The stay in the territory of Azerbaijan of officials with a diplomatic or consular status, employees of international organisations, or foreign nationals engaged in state service of foreign states, as well as their family members, will not be regarded as a period of stay in the territory of Azerbaijan, unless such persons are engaged in entrepreneurial activities in Azerbaijan.