Individual - Foreign tax relief and tax treaties

Last reviewed - 26 December 2022

Foreign tax relief

Tax credits are available with respect to income tax paid to countries with which Brazil has a ratified tax treaty or to countries that would render reciprocal treatment in relation to income tax paid to the Brazilian government, provided that some requirements are met.

Tax treaties

Brazil signed tax treaties to avoid double taxation with the following countries: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia (*), Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay (*), Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad & Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay (*), and Venezuela.

(*) Treaties pending ratification (not yet in force).

In the case of the United States, United Kingdom, and Germany, the Brazilian authorities have already officially recognised the reciprocity of tax treatment, which permits the offsetting of the tax paid in those countries against the tax due in Brazil, on the same earnings.

Brazil maintains the following totalisation agreements:

  • Ibero-Americano Multilateral Agreement: Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Paraguay, and Uruguay.
  • Mercosul (Southern Common Market Agreement): Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay, and Brazil.
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Luxembourg
  • Portugal
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Quebec
  • United States

The following totalisation agreements are in progress (not yet in force):

  • Bulgaria
  • China
  • India
  • Israel
  • Mozambique
  • Portuguese Speaking Countries Multilateral Agreement: Angola, Cabo Verde, Guinea Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, Sao Tome and Principe, and East Timor.