Dominican Republic


Last reviewed - 04 December 2023

Explored and claimed by Christopher Columbus on his first voyage in 1492, the island of Hispaniola became a springboard for Spanish conquest of the Caribbean and the American mainland. The island sought to gain its own independence in 1821 and finally attained independence as the Dominican Republic in 1844, thanks to the founding fathers through the organisation of La Trinitaria. In 1861, the Dominicans voluntarily returned to the Spanish Empire; however, they restored their independence two years later, in 1863.

The Dominican Republic is divided into 31 provinces and one National District. Its capital is Santo Domingo. The official language of the Dominican Republic is Spanish, and the currency is the Dominican peso (DOP).

The Dominican Republic has long been viewed primarily as an exporter of sugar, coffee, and tobacco; however, in recent years, the service sector has overtaken agriculture as the economy's largest employer, due to growth in tourism and free trade zones. The mining sector has also started a sustained period of growth. The economy is dependent upon the United States, which is the destination for nearly 50% of its exports. The Central America-Dominican Republic Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR) came into force in March 2007, boosting investment and exports, and reducing losses to the Asian garment industry.

Quick rates and dates

Corporate income tax (CIT) rates
Headline CIT rate (%)


Corporate income tax (CIT) due dates
CIT return due date

120 days after year-end.

CIT final payment due date

120 days after year-end.

CIT estimated payment due dates

On the 15th day of every month.

Personal income tax (PIT) rates
Headline PIT rate (%)


Personal income tax (PIT) due dates
PIT return due date

31 March

PIT final payment due date

31 March

PIT estimated payment due dates

Monthly for employment income.

Value-added tax (VAT) rates
Standard VAT rate (%)


Withholding tax (WHT) rates
WHT rates (%) (Dividends/Interest/Royalties)

Resident: 10 / NA / NA;

Non-resident: 10 / 10 / 27

Capital gains tax (CGT) rates
Headline corporate capital gains tax rate (%)

Capital gains are subject to the normal CIT rate.

Headline individual capital gains tax rate (%)

Capital gains are subject to the normal PIT rate.

Net wealth/worth tax rates
Headline net wealth/worth tax rate (%)


Inheritance and gift tax rates
Headline inheritance tax rate (%)


Headline gift tax rate (%)


NA stands for Not Applicable (i.e. the territory does not have the indicated tax or requirement)

NP stands for Not Provided (i.e. the information is not currently provided in this chart)

All information in this chart is up to date as of the 'Last reviewed' date on the corresponding territory Overview page. This chart has been prepared for general guidance on matters of interest only, and does not constitute professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this chart without obtaining specific professional advice. No representation or warranty (express or implied) is given as to the accuracy or completeness of the information contained in this chart, and, to the extent permitted by law, PwC does not accept or assume any liability, responsibility or duty of care for any consequences of you or anyone else acting, or refraining to act, in reliance on the information contained in this chart or for any decision based on it.