Individual - Foreign tax relief and tax treaties

Last reviewed - 01 January 2024

Foreign tax relief

A deduction for the avoidance of double taxation is allowed for foreign-source income and capital gains taxed by Spanish PIT, calculated as the lesser of:

  • The actual foreign tax paid on the foreign-source income, by reason of a tax identical or analogous in its nature to Spanish PIT or NRIT.
  • The result of applying the average effective PIT rate to the foreign-source income taxed abroad.

Any foreign tax withheld (or paid) may be eligible for this deduction; however, if a DTT is applicable, its terms should be taken into account when determining the method to calculate the deduction and making the calculation.

Double taxation treaties (DTTs)

Countries with which Spain currently has DTTs:

Albania Finland Norway
Algeria Former States of USSR Oman
Andorra France Pakistan
Argentina Georgia Panama
Armenia Germany Philippines
Australia Greece Poland
Austria Hong Kong Portugal
Azerbaijan Hungary Qatar
Barbados Iceland Romania
Belarus India Russian Federation
Belgium Indonesia Saudi Arabia
Bolivia Iran Senegal
Bosnia and Herzegovina Ireland Serbia
Brazil Israel Singapore
Bulgaria Italy Slovak Republic
Canada Jamaica Slovenia
Cape Verde Japan South Africa
Chile Kazakhstan South Korea, Republic of
China, People's Republic of Kuwait Sweden
Colombia Latvia Switzerland
Costa Rica Lithuania Thailand
Croatia Luxembourg Trinidad and Tobago
Cuba Macedonia Tunisia
Cyprus Malaysia Turkey
Czech Republic Malta United Arab Emirates
Dominican Republic Mexico United Kingdom
East Timor Moldova United States
Ecuador Morocco Uruguay
Egypt Netherlands Uzbekistan
El Salvador New Zealand Venezuela
Estonia Nigeria Vietnam